Bala, Gwynedd, LL23 7PS
An striking country mansion set in about 14 acres of formal gardens and grounds; both a private home and bespoke hotel.
Standing high above the Dee Valley with a backdrop of beautiful Welsh Hills, Palé Hall enjoys stunning views and the privacy afforded by its outstanding gardens and grounds. The house is located within an area rich in wildlife and stunning countryside, yet is accessible to larger centres. To the edge of Snowdonia National Park, Palé Hall is well situated for partaking in a variety of outdoor activities including walking, mountaineering, fishing and some of the best shooting to be found in the country. The River Dee has excellent kayaking and canoeing opportunities and the coast is within 35 miles with its stunning unspoilt beaches and sailing centres including Porthmadog and Pwhelli. There are many golf courses in the area including the Vale of Llangollen considered to be one of the best inland courses in North Wales.
The house is rurally located yet is within four miles of the town of Bala situated to the tip of the beautiful lake Llyn Tegide and the nearby town of Llangollen has further amenities and is known for its cultural events including the annual International Musical Eisteddfod. Chester, Liverpool and Shrewsbury are all easily accessible with international airports at Liverpool and Manchester.
Palé Hall is a magnificent Victorian mansion, commanding outstanding views of the Dee Valley and the surrounding Berwyn Mountains. The house is presently a wonderful family home combined as an elegant bespoke hotel and conference centre. While an exceptional private residence, the house has the potential to be fully commercialised to create a higher profile hotel business.
Built at the height of the Victorian era, Palé Hall is considered to be one of the finest country houses in Wales. Designed to create impressive living and entertaining space, it was finished to exacting standards using the best possible materials and most skilled craftsman. The prolific use of oak and walnut is evident throughout with parquet floors, panelled rooms and casement doors. Deep stone mullion and oak windows flood the rooms with natural light while framing the views of the surrounding gardens and hills beyond. The detail to the high moulded ceilings, some with frescos, and carved architraves is exceptional. The house even has the benefit of an electricity turbine installed in 1921, driven by water which to this day produces approximately 60% of the supply required.
A Victorian house of immense stature, Palé Hall was built in 1871 by the eminent railway engineer, MP and landowner, Henry Robertson who owned a significant estate encompassing the surrounding valley and hillsides. It replaced a manor house which stood on a site for several centuries. A business partner and close friend, Charles Fredrick Beyer, J.P., a German engineer, and founder of the Beyer Peacock and Company, makers of locomotive engines undertook a similar project further down the valley at Llantysilio using the same architect. The precision detail and many architectural features are reflected in both houses.
Designed by Samuel Pountey Smith of Shrewsbury, the house was constructed of mellow sandstone and finished to an exceptional specification to encapsulate the immense wealth and grandeur of the Victorian era. Queen Victoria stayed at Palé Hall in 1889 on what was thought to be her only visit to Wales where it is said she was enchanted by the house and area. The house remained in the ownership of the Robertson family through both world wars, becoming a haven of comfort and rest as a military hospital in 1914 -1918 and a home for evacuated children in 1939. Palé Estate was sold during the 1950's to the Duke of Westminster who purchased the estate mainly for its shooting rights over 32,000 acres. The house was left empty but fortunately the fabric of the house remained virtually intact due to the fact that heating was kept on thanks to Palé's own free supply of electricity generated through a turbine driven by water.
The house was sold along with its beautiful gardens and grounds during the 1970's and in 1984 became a luxury hotel which was then bought by the current owners in 1992. They have undertaken an extensive programme of restoration and refurbishment to bring it back to its former glory.
Since 1992 the house has undergone a complete programme of restoration which has seen the house returned to its former grandeur while incorporating modern day comforts and amenities. Gracious reception rooms lead off the central grand hall with its impressive fireplace and lit by a stained glass light above.
A sweeping oak staircase leads up to the galleried landing off which are the principal bedrooms, each individually styled and decorated with well fitted bath and shower rooms. These vary from the opulence of the Caenarfon and Ruthin suites to the intimacy of the Victorian suite with the bathroom used by Queen Victoria. All seventeen bedrooms are beautifully presented and have stunning views. The first and second floors are served by an elevator.
To the rear of the house is the servants wing with the traditional kitchen now utilised as an attractive guest breakfast room, a commercial catering kitchen, stores and office space. The versatile staff accommodation to the rear of the house is extensive and laid out over three floors including one bedroom flats and numerous en suite bedrooms, and separate access from the rear courtyard.
Palé Hall stands up a long recently tarmac tree lined driveway which leads to a wide gravel sweep to the front of the house with ample parking space. The house is surrounded by awe-inspiring gardens with sweeping lawns, well manicured box hedging, stocked borders and featuring magnificent mature trees. A tribute to Victorian planting, these include banks of rhodedendron, impressive Lebanese cedar, and redwood, copper beech and oak.
Behind the former walled kitchen garden are a range of outbuildings including the traditional stable block, barns and stores. These have planning permission in place for conversion to residential accommodation along with three holiday lets. To the rear of the house is a court yard served by a secondary driveway.
The hotel currently operates as a husband and wife run business generating a mix of revenue from accommodation, food and beverage facilities and wedding business. Our client chooses to operate the business at a pace as befits his lifestyle, and as such the hotel only trades for an average of six months each year. During the period of our clients ownership, a high level of repeat business has been established. The hotel has been awarded the Visit Wales Gold Award which rewards outstanding quality and exceptional comfort and hospitality in the service sector.
Full trading information can be provided to bona fide parties upon request.
Planning permission has been granted on 24/02/11 for conversion of the outbuildings to two residential dwellings and three holiday cottages. Application no C10M/0075/04/CR.
Property Reference Number: GBWMRSTES110050
- Private/bespoke hotel
- 4 principal reception rooms
- 17 bedroom suites
- Outbuildings with planning
- About 14 acres
- EPC Exempt