A Grade II listed former manor house set in over 50 acres.
History & Main House
Lower Burston Farm has a fascinating history with the remains of a medieval village in the grounds. Domesday documents the village of Burston in the years around 1086, when the settlement was in occupation, in some sort of form and the land was cultivated. It also confirms that the origins of the settlement go back to at least the times of Edward the Confessor. The depopulation of Burston dated to the year 1488 when John Swafield had gained possession of the land and enclosed it for sheep grazing.
A branch of the Lee family came into possession of Lower Burston Farm in 1516 and in early 17th century Sir Henry Lee built or rebuilt the property and acquired a royal license to empark the grounds. The Manor House, now Lower Burston Farm was rebuilt in the 18th and 19th centuries with much of the original brick which can be seen today.
The medieval village to the east and the deer park to the south of the house are both Listed Monuments.
The main house is a characterful Grade II listed property with a wealth of original features throughout the house and outbuildings, including 17th Century door frames, exposed beams, original mullion windows and fireplaces. The current owners have transformed the property through their ownership and the quality is clear to see throughout, with the replacement of all the windows and oak has been used for the joinery in parts of the house.
The front door leads into a staircase hall with direct access to the drawing room with open fireplace, French doors to the garden and tasteful cornicing.
From the hall a corridor runs past the dining room with an original mullion window, exposed beams and gas fireplace, a second door gives direct access to the kitchen. The corridor continues past the dining room to the kitchen passing an original door frame on the left which leads through to a second staircase hall, with a door to outside, this access is used as the main access to the property, as it leads directly to the kitchen. The stairs from here lead up to the first floor, to the study with views over the sunken garden and the principal bedroom suite.
The kitchen/breakfast room runs the length of the house with a large and convenient utility room at one end. The kitchen/breakfast room has an Aga and stunning views over the garden. The conservatory is beyond the Kitchen/ breakfast room. From the main hall the stairs rise up to the first floor. The principal bedroom suite is on the right, accessed through a hidden door. This bedroom comprises a double bedroom, large bathroom with twin sink, separate shower and a dressing room. A door from the dressing room leads through to the study and the stairs. There are two further double bedrooms on the first floor, sharing a family bathroom.
On the second floor, there are three further double bedrooms and a bathroom. The farmhouse sits centrally within its grounds which extend to over 50 acres. The property is approached along a long, tree lined drive and opens on to a delightful setting with a pond and the old farm buildings. The gardens are particularly worthy of note. An attractive lower garden is protected on two sides by open fronted outbuildings making a perfect setting for entertaining. The gardens are landscaped and bordered by a coppice of trees including sweet chestnut, oak, cherry and walnut.
From the house there are wonderful views across the former deer park which adjoins the site of the medieval village and the belt of mature woodland beyond.
View payable Stamp Duty for this property
This wonderful family home is in a stunning position surrounded by its own land and views over undulated Buckinghamshire countrysideHugh Maconochie