Fine A' listed Georgian castle in an idyllic island location
'New' Breachacha Castle is an A Listed building which forms part of a building group with the 15th century old' castle and the adjacent Breachacha Steading which is contemporaneous.
The building was first constructed in 1750 as a classical three storey square villa linked to a small pair of square pavilions. The house was built as a modern replacement for the 15th century castle which is situated diagonally to the front of the newer building, visible from some windows at a sharp angle to one side.
The building seen today is a hybrid of the original plainer Palladian style and the 19th century romanticised style favoured by the Victorians, which harked back to the medieval gothic of the older castle. The result is a bright, spacious building with a great deal of period charm and character, which is imposing but remains homely in scale.
Currently the vendors live largely on the top two floors, with accommodation comprising six bedrooms (three en suite), two bathrooms, a sitting room and kitchen, all with central heating. The ground floor rooms are charming but are currently little used, while the side wings and pavilions are derelict shells, one of which is used as a workshop and store.
The rooms of the main castle are reminiscent of a well proportioned Georgian manor house, with high ceilings and a number of original plaster mouldings, cornices and period doors and ironmongery. The large sash windows frame the fantastic views over the Atlantic and surrounding beaches and countryside. Of particular note is the view from the original cast iron roll-top bath on the third floor which looks straight out to
Sea, whilst the Treshnish Isles and Staffa, with Fingals cave, are visible in the East.
Further details, including architectural drawings, can be provided by the selling agents.
Until 1944 Breachacha was the seat of the Lairds of Coll. For some centuries the old' castle was occupied by the Macleans, who in 1750 constructed the new' Georgian castle as a modern home in the Palladian style. When visiting Coll in 1773, Boswell and Johnson clearly found the Georgian building austere, referring to it disparagingly as a mere tradesman's box.'
The Macleans lived in the castle from 1750 until the sale of Coll to John Lorne Stewart in 1856. By this time Palladian architecture had fallen from fashion and further extensions and alterations were made to meet the new Gothic Baronial trend, fashionable at the time. A fourth storey was added to the main house, windows were enlarged, pavilions extended and the appearance altered to include crenulated parapets and turrets.
Further internal alterations and external additions such as the porch were made at the end of the 19th century. From 1944 to 1968 the property was uninhabited and fell into a state of substantial disrepair, before being sold to a new buyer who sought to use it as a holiday home. Some restoration work was undertaken to the fabric of the building, although work stalled and by 1998 the property was sold again. By this stage it was uninhabitable and the owners spent holidays living in a caravan in the castle grounds. The current owners purchased the building in 2006 and over 10 years have undertaken a great deal of work to secure the future of the building using a team of conservation specialists.
The vendors planned the full restoration of the castle, and have undertaken a great deal of work with an independent conservation specialist who has worked closely with Scottish Heritage and explored options for grant funding. Sadly a change in circumstances necessitates a sale, offering buyers a unique opportunity to restore a very special building in a truly unique setting.
View payable LBTT Calculator for this property