A stunning five storey double fronted Grade I listed townhouse in this exceptional central location.
Designed by John Wood the Elder, this wonderful townhouse was completed before the construction of the King's Circus in 1754.
Immaculately presented, the house has been the subject of meticulous, carefully considered restoration and sensitively executed interior design of the highest calibre. Buyers will note the meticulous attention to detail and the comfortable, balanced proportions in the living space and on all floors, which amount to in excess of 3,600 square feet. This space is tied together by way of a breath-taking staircase with striking levels of natural light. The property was historically commercial use and has now been rescued from where much of the architectural heritage lay beneath functional office and storage space. Beautiful stone and timber has been revealed and displayed with evidence of professional craftsmen integrating modern period style design around these original features.
On the lower ground floor is a stunning kitchen with central island unit. There is a breakfast room and a dining room with access to the garden. In addition on this floor is a cloakroom and three useful vaults. The most striking features of this fine house, with its door frame noted in Pevsner (see below) and displaying no less than eleven six over six' windows below its cornice, are the beautiful staircase, elegant double aspect drawing room with connecting sitting room, and the two exceptional bedroom suites on the first and second floors. The top floor provides a useful separate suite of two bedrooms, kitchen and shower room.
To the rear there is a most attractive walled courtyard garden with pleasant green outlook, backing onto the neighbouring Circus gardens, an ideal spot for outside entertaining.
A brief history
The house is recorded as belonging to a Dr William Oliver to whom a lease was granted January 3rd 1755 by the younger Wood. (See The Georgian Buildings of Bath' by Walter Ison. (Kingsmead Press 1948 p142). The entrance is singled out by Pevsner in his survey of the buildings of Somerset. A photograph is also displayed in the Making of Bath' Museum. It is echoed by another example at 1 Terrace Walk in the city where a head appears in three arcaded sections of a shop front designed circa 1750. (See The Gazetteer p125/6 Bath - An Architectural Guide by Charles Robertson.)
View payable Stamp Duty for this property
A double-fronted Georgian gem in the heart of Bath.Jack King